Meet Our 2022 Board Nominees

Belen R Vigil MSN, FNP-BC

I was born and raised in Silver City New Mexico. I started pursuing a nursing degree in 1995 graduating from Western New Mexico University with my associates degree of nursing. I then pursued my bachelors degree of nursing at New Mexico State University and graduated in December 2005. I continued my journey at University of Texas at El Paso for my masters in nursing and a family nurse practitioner. I currently work for the Veterans Affairs system had a VA clinic in Silver City.

Dr. Angelica Martinez Director of CASS at UTEP 

Dr. Angelica Martinez is a lifelong resident of El Paso. She attended Our Lady of the Lake University in San Antonio, Texas where she received her PhD in Leadership Studies and attended Webster University where she received her MBA. She has extensive experience in working in institutions of higher learning. She is the Director for the Center for Accommodation and Support Services (CASS) at the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP). She returned to UTEP, where she had worked early in her career, in August 2019.

She previously worked at Texas Tech Health Sciences Center in El Paso for 23 years directing and supervising clinical, financial, and academic endeavors. She worked in a highly regulated industry that required clinical, financial, and academic policy to come together so as to meet the accreditation standards of several governing bodies that impact Texas Tech, including SACS, ACGME, Joint Commission and LCME. She had to ensure compliance with all operating policies and procedures related to all financial practices associated with the departments she led and met internal metrics to ensure efficient running of the clinical service lines she was responsible for. She is committed to the growth and improvement of our community. She, along with her husband John and their daughter Julia have always called the Sun City home.

Lilia Worrell Director of Municipal Courts

Lilia Worrell has worked at the City of El Paso Municipal Court since 1992. She has been promoted from Accountant to Assistant Director and in June 2017 was appointed as the Director of the Municipal Courts. Ms.Worrell is a member of the National Association of Court Managers, Government Collectors Association, Texas Municipal Courts Association, International City/County Management Association, and Criminal Justice Advisory Committee with the Rio Grande Council of Governments.

Ms. Worrell has attained National Certification as Court Manager from the National Center for State Courts-Institute for Court Management and Level I State of Texas Certification with the Texas Municipal Court Clerks Association. Prior to joining the City of El Paso, Ms.Worrell worked for 3 years at the County Auditor’s office as an Accountant, Internal Auditor and Grants Accountant. Ms.Worrell also worked full time at First City National Bank while attending the University of Texas at El Paso where she earned a Bachelors Administration degree in Finance and Accounting.


In addition to the nominated slate, a qualified member in good standing may be placed on the ballot of nominees for a position on the Board of Directors by petitioning for inclusion on the ballot.

Nomination by petition requires the following:

  1. Submit a petition signed by at least one (1) percent of the members (182 signatures). Signatures must be of members in good standing with the credit union.
  2. Submit a statement of qualification and biographical data, 125 words or less.
  3. Submit signed affidavit stating an agreement to the nomination and promise to serve if elected. Petitions and affidavits to serve are available at the Credit Union’s Administration Office which is located at 8820 Gazelle Drive. Petitions must be returned no later than 5:00 p.m. February 18, 2022. By March 16, 2022, all qualified members 16 years of age or older, in good standing, will be mailed a ballot with instructions and deadline for return. When only one member is nominated for each position to be filled, no ballots will be mailed out. The Chairman of the Board of Directors will declare each nominee elected by general consent or acclamation at the Annual Meeting. An independent accounting firm will tabulate the ballots if necessary. Petition requirements and forms can be picked up from CEO Ken Walters at the evolve FCU Administration Building, 8820 Gazelle Drive, El Paso, Tx 79925.

The results will be announced at the Annual Meeting to be held on Wednesday, April 13, 2022 via Webex Conference at 1:00pm. If you have any questions regarding the election process, please contact the Board Secretary, Ginger Raya, through the Credit Union at 915-593.5866.


1.    Submit signed petition by one percent (1% = 189) signatures of membership. Members must be in good standing.

2.    Submit a statement of qualifications and biographical data in 125 words or less (please see rules).

3.    Submit signed affidavit agreeing to nomination and willingness to serve if elected.

Deadline for return of petition is February 18, 2022 by 5:00 p.m. Petitions must be returned to the CEO at the Administration Building of the evolve Federal Credit Union at 8820 Gazelle Drive, El Paso, Texas. Please have the CEO initial and note the date and time when the petition is received by him.

The Board Secretary shall cause valid petition nominees together with those of the nominating committee to be posted in the lobby of the evolve Federal Credit Union on March 11, 2022.

Ballots will be mailed no later than March 16, 2022 with instructions and deadline for return. This year's Annual meeting will be held on Wednesday, April 13, 2022 at 1:00 p.m. via Webex.